Who am I?

by sleepwalkwaking

There is a feeling of me-ness here,
there is a sense of being a seperate self.

It is very strong.
It seems real,
seems undeniable.
It is very convincing.

It is convincing
because it is experienced.
Direct experience of me-ness.

But then, there is also an awareness of all of the above.
There is awareness of the experience of me-ness.

And it seems like,
what’s supposed to happen,
is that as soon as that truth is recognized,
(the awareness of an experience of me-ness)
the sense of being confined to that me-ness
simply drops away.

Because, obviously
“I” am not confined to that me-ness,
if “I” have witnessed the me-ness
from a place outside of the me-ness.

But that’s not what happens.

Have I just not seen it?
Or am I somehow not yet looking
from a place outside the me-ness,
but rather, from a place inside the me-ness?

Because what actually happens is more like this:

1) I am the person, “me”.

2) And I am the person
having the awareness of
being the person, “me”.

3) And I am the person
having the awareness of
the person having the awareness
of being the person, “me”.

4) And I am the person
having the awareness of
the person having the awareness
of the person having the awareness
of being the person, “me”.

5,6,…) on and on,
ad infinitum

Where is this investigation going astray?

